The Meters – Gettin’ Funkier All The Time (6CD BOX)


Among the most sampled groups of the 60s and 70s by a slew of top rap and hip-hop artists of the 90s and beyond (including 2 Pac, Ice-T, A Tribe Called Quest, Public Enemy and Beastie Boys among others), the legendary New Orleans band and Grammy Lifetime Achievement awardees The Meters created an instantly recognizable sound through almost a decade of recording, initially for the Josie label and then for Reprise and Warner Brothers.

Availability: In stock (can be backordered) SKU: QSMCR 5190BX Categories: , , More of:


With a superb, informative and extensive essay by renowned UK writer Charles Waring that includes quotes from Nocentelli, Porter and Cyril Neville from interviews conducted for the liner notes, first class mastering by Nick Robbins and stellar artwork by Roger Williams (featuring rare photos supplied by Warner Music), this wonderful 116-track, 6-CD SoulMusic Records’ box set (produced by’s David Nathan) showcases The Meters’ entire recorded output for Josie Records (1968-1971), Reprise and Warners Brothers (1972-77). In addition to their eight full albums (almost all consisting of original material by the group), this luxurious package (with a 40-page booklet) includes non-album singles, bonus material, single edits and a rare 1977 disco mix of ‘Disco Is The Thing Today’, available for the first time on CD.

1. Sophisticated Cissy
2. Sehorns Farm
3. Cissy Strut
4. Here Comes the Meter Man
5. Cardova
6. Live Wire
7. Art
8. 6v6 La
9. Stormy
10. Sing a Simple Song
11. Ease Back
12. Ann
13. The Look of Love
14. Soul Machine
15. Dry Spell
16. Little Old Money Maker
17. Look-Ka Py Py
18. Rigor Mortis
19. Pungee
20. Thinking
21. This is My Last Affair
22. Funky Miracle
23. Yeah, You’re Right
24. Oh, Calcutta!
25. The Mob
26. 9 ‘Til 5

1. Chicken Strut
2. Hey! Last Minute
3. Grass
4. Borro (Aka Borrow)
5. Liver Splash
6. Wichita Lineman
7. Joog
8. Go For Yourself
9. Same Old Thing
10. Hand Clapping Song
11. Darling Darling Darling
12. Tippi-Toes
13. Britches
14. Ride Your Pony
15. Funky Meters’ Soul
16. Meter Strut
17. A Message From the Meters
18. Zony Mash
19. Stretch Your Rubber Band
20. Groovy Lady
21. (the World is a Bit Under the Weather) Doodle-Oop
22. I Need More Time
23. Good Old Funky Music
24. Sassy Lady

1. Do the Dirt
2. Smiling
3. You’ve Got To Change (You Got To Reform)
4. Stay Away
5. Birds
6. The Flower Song
7. Soul Island
8. Lonesome and Unwanted People
9. Gettin’ Funkier All the Time
10. Cabbage Alley
11. Chug Chug Chug-A-Lug (Push and Shove) Part I
12. Chug Chug Chug-A-Lug (Push and Shove) Part Ii
13. People Say
14. Love is For Me
15. Just Kissed My Baby
16. What’cha Say
17. Jungle Man
18. Hey Pocky A-Way

1. It Ain’t No Use
2. Loving You is On My Mind
3. Africa
4. Out In the Country
5. Fire On the Bayou
6. Love Slip Upon Ya
7. Talkin’ ‘Bout New Orleans
8. They All Ask’d For You
9. Can You Do Without?
10. Liar
11. You’re a Friend of Mine
12. Middle of the Road
13. Running Fast
14. Mardi Gras Mambo
15. Keep On Marching
16. He Bite Me
17. A Mother’s Love
18. Jambalaya (On the Bayou)

1. Disco is the Thing Today
2. Mister Moon
3. Find Yourself
4. All These Things
5. I Want To Be Loved By You
6. Suite For 20 G
7. Doodle Loop (the World is a Little Bit Under the Weather)
8. Trick Bag
9. Chug-A-Lug
10. Hang ‘Em High
11. Honky Tonk Woman
12. Love the One You’re With
13. What More Can I Do?
14. Down By the River
15. Come Together
16. Big Chief

1. No More Okey Doke
2. I’m Gone
3. Be My Lady
4. My Name Up In Lights
5. Funkify Your Life
6. Stop That Train
7. We Got the Kind of Love
8. Give It What You Can
9. All I Do Every Day Various Single Edits
10. Hey Pocky A-Way
11. People Say
12. Running Fast
13. Disco is the Thing Today (Disco Mix)
14. Be My Lady

Additional information

Weight 0,195 kg