Marvin Gaye – Midnight Love (2CD)


This classic recording ‘Midnight Love’ is Gaye’s final great gift to us. Marvin had copied the beat from the European New Wave scene in his Belgian exile of the coastal town Oostende, and yet it became something completely new under his hands. On this anniversary edition of ‘Midnight Love’ Gaye takes cues from the eccentric whims of Rick James, Cameo, and Prince for “Midnight Lady,” an elastic funk ode to the luxurious nightlife, those vivacious Super Freaks, and sexual debauchery. On “Third World Girl” He shows his love to the then recently-departed Bob Marley weaving together faux-reggae rhythms with glitzy synth-pop touches. ‘Midnight Love’ is a cresting wave in the ocean of masterpieces from a legendary master of soul.

Availability: Available on backorder SKU: MOCCD14153 Categories: ,


1. Midnight Lady
2. Sexual Healing
3. Rockin’ After Midnight
4. ‘Til Tomorrow
5. Turn On Some Music
6. Third World Girl
7. Joy
8. My Love is Waiting

1. Clique Games/Rick James (Original Version of “Midnight Lady”
2. Sexual Healing (Alternate 12-Inch Instrumental)
3. Sexual Healing (Original Vocal Version)
4. Sexual Healing (Alternate Vocal/Mix)
5. I Bet You Wonder (Original Version of “Rockin’ After Midnigh
6. Rockin’ After Midnight (Instrumental)
7. Baby, Baby, Baby (Original Version of “‘Til Tomorrow”)
8. I’ve Got My Music (Original Version of “Turn On Some Music”)
9. Turn On Some Music (Alternate Vocal/Mix)
10. Third World Girl (Original Reggae Version)
11. Third World Girl (Alternate Vocal/Mix)
12. My Love is Waiting (Alternate Vocal/Mix)
13. Marvin’s Message To the Cbs Record Staff
14. Sexual Healing (Rehearsal Tape Courtesy of David Ritz)

Additional information

Weight 0,145 kg