The Main Ingredient Feat Cuba Gooding – I Only Have Eyes For You (PTG CD)



Availability: In stock SKU: PTG 34086 Categories: , ,


Main Ingredient Feat. Cuba Gooding – I Only Have Eyes For You

The Main Ingredient was formed in Harlem in 1964 as a trio called the Poets, composed of lead singer Donald McPherson, Luther Simmons, Jr., and Panama-born Tony Silvester. In 1966 they were signed to RCA and after a couple of singles with small success they changed their name in The Main Ingredient. Unfortunately Donald McPherson who had taken ill with leukemia, passed away unexpectedly. Silvester and Simmons regrouped with new lead singer Cuba Gooding, who’d served as a backing vocalist on some of their previous recordings and had filled in on tour during McPherson’s brief illness.

The Gooding era began auspiciously enough with the million-selling smash “Everybody Plays the Fool,” which hit number two R&B and became the group’s biggest hit ever. The accompanying album, titled Bitter Sweet, became their first to hit the Top Ten on the R&B charts; its follow-up, 1973’s Afrodisiac, featured several songs written or co-written by Stevie Wonder, although it didn’t produce any huge successes on the singles charts. They returned to the R&B Top Ten in 1974 with “Just Don’t Want to Be Lonely,” which sold over a million copies and also reached the pop Top Ten, and the disco-flavored “Happiness Is Just Around the Bend,” which did not. In 1975, the group recorded several songs co-written by Leon Ware, including the R&B Top Ten “Rolling Down a Mountainside.” By this point, however, Silvester was harboring other ambitions; he released a solo album called Magic Touch that year, and left the group to form a production team with Bert DeCoteaux.

Silvester was replaced by Carl Tompkins, but the chemistry wasn’t the same, and Gooding departed for a solo career on Motown in 1977, which produced two albums; Simmons, meanwhile, left music to work as a stockbroker. Gooding, Silvester, and Simmons reunited as the Main Ingredient in 1979, and cut two more albums, 1980’s Ready for Love and 1981’s I Only Have Eyes for You (the latter featured a minor hit in “Evening of Love”).


01. Evening of love (6:43)
02. I only have eyes for you (3:50)
03. Party people (5:15)
04. Rediscover me (4:20)
05. Save me (4:20)
06. Just once (5:10)
07. Only (4:10)
08. All because of you (4:05)
09. Rediscover me (Reprise) (1:00)

Additional information

Weight 0,110 kg