Isaac Hayes -The Very Best of


This is not a bad start, at least as far as single-disc representations of Isaac Hayes’ Stax years are considered. The Very Best of Isaac Hayes contains many of the necessities — his reinventions of “Walk on By,” “By the Time I Get to Phoenix,” and “Never Can Say Goodbye,” alongside originals like “Theme from Shaft,” “Do Your Thing,” and “Joy, Pt. 1” — but since it contains a total of 18 tracks, there’s no room left for the original full-length album versions, so you get the single edits. Ultimate Isaac Hayes: Can You Dig It?, a two-disc/one-DVD set released in 2005 by Stax, is easier to recommend because it is more expansive, allowing enough room for all 12 minutes of “Walk on By” and a few essential cuts that couldn’t fit here — such as “Hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedalymistic” and “I Stand Accused.”

Availability: Out of stock SKU: D19280 Categories: ,



1. Precious, Precious

2. Walk On By

3. By The Time I Get To Phoenix

4. I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself

5. I Stand Accused

6. The Look Of Love

7. Never Can Say Goodbye

8. Theme From Shaft

9. Do Your Thing

10. Let’s Stay Together

11. Soulsville

12. Ain’t That Loving You (For More Reasons Than One)

13. Theme From The Men

14. (If Loving You Is Wrong) I Don’t Want To Be Right

15. Rolling Down A Mountainside

16. Joy (Pt. 1)

17. Wonderful

18. Title Theme (From Three Tough Guys)

Additional information

Weight 0,110 kg