Colonel Abrams – Colonel Abrams (PTG CD)

Original price was: €17,90.Current price is: €14,32.

Artist: Colonel Abrams
Label: PTG Records
Sort: Artist CD
Product #: PTG34088
Barcode: 8717438196886

Availability: In stock SKU: PTG 34088 Categories: , ,


Colonel Abrams – Colonel Abrams

Colonel Abrams is a house and urban musician who was born in Detroit, Michigan and raised in Brooklyn, New York. Colonel Abrams is his actual name, not a stage name.

In 1985 he signed to Steven Machat”s Label/Production company, AMI. Machat, who was working with the New Zealand producer Richard Burgess and hired him against conventional wisdom to produce Colonel Abrams for his company the album Colonel Abrams. Machat then talked MCA into signing the Colonel recordings to have them released throughout the world. AMI also at this time had Ready for the World and the New Edition/Bobby Brown with MCA. This collaboration with the British producer Richard James Burgess produced the hits “Trapped”, “I’m Not Gonna Let You” and urban contemporary ballad “Table for Two”.

“Trapped” reached the top five and went gold in the UK Singles Chart and topped the U.S. Hot Dance Music/Club Play chart in 1985, followed by the entire Colonel Abrams album, which spent two weeks at number one the following year. It was estimated by the Phonographic Association that “Trapped” sold over 5 million copies worldwide by spring 1987. “Trapped” was copied by the producers Stock, Aitken and Waterman in London, U.K, and gave the U.K. singer Rick Astley a number one track with “Never Gonna Give You Up” which used an identical bassline to “Trapped.”

“I’m Not Gonna Let You” also spent a week at number one in 1986. The album peaked at number 75 on the U.S. Billboard 200 albums chart and number 13 on the U.S. Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart. His second album, 1987’s You and Me Equals Us saw similar success.

An electronic remix of “Trapped” was later released in 1995 by Boards of Canada under the pseudonym Hell Interface. A new version of “Trapped” (“Trapped 2006”) was released in the UK.


01. The truth
02. Speculation
03. Never change
04. Picture me in love with you
05. Trapped
06. I’m not gonna let
07. Over and over
08. Margaux
09. Table for two
10. Trapped (12” Vocal – Regisford Mix) (6:30)
11. I’m not gonna let you (12” Extended Version) (6:47)
12. The Truth* (12”A Side-Silas Mix) (7:47)
13. Over and Over (12” Vocal Mix) (6:22)
14. Music is the Answer# (6:40)

Additional information

Weight 0,110 kg