CD Description

Roy Ayers – Love Fantasy

Over the years most of Roy Ayers’ solo albums went out of print that’s why PTG Records decided to re-issue one of his most in demand solo albums “Love fantasy” first released on Polydor in 1980. Ayers was in those days the most successful jazz act for Polydor Records and he was enjoying the superstar status. He worked with many talented producers and arrangers. His warm vibe playing on Love fantasy earned equal jazz and R&B acclaim and wonderful strings were arranged by William Allen.

Love Fantasy contains Ayers’ traditional groove on the uptempo funk track “Rock your roll” but also smooth jazz tracks like “Love Fantasy” and “Believe in yourself”. Our personal feeling is that Love Fantasy has two of Ayers’ best tracks ever “Sigh (Feel the Vibration)” and “Betcha Gonna” with strong bass and drum interplay and has Ayers playing the synth.

However Ayers jazz fans should say that the album has lack of jazz, but fans of Ayers’ late-’70s early-’80s work will indeed enjoy this album very much.


Roy Ayers – Love Fantasy

01. Rock Your Roll 6:29
02. Betcha Gonna 6:00
03. (Sometimes) Believe In Yourself 7:18
04. Love Fantasy 6:33
05. Sigh (Feel The Vibration) 7:25
06. Baby Buba 6:22

Additional information

Weight 0,120 kg