Melba Moore – Read My Lips – Expanded (CD)


This meshing of “feels” and styles is apparent from the get-go on the album’s namesake and first single, “Read My Lips.” The driving number not only reached #12 on Billboard’s R&B chart, but also garnered Miss Moore a Grammy nomination — her fourth — in the Best Female Rock category. Producer Keith Diamond (now deceased) played live drums over his drum programming, while Eddie Martinez contributed the “rock guitar.”

Keith produced seven of the album’s nine cuts (five of which he wrote or co-wrote), including the follow-up single releases, “When You Love Me Like This” (featuring Lillo) and “I Can’t Believe It (It’s Over).” “He demonstrated great acumen for music: both the song and how it should be delivered,” remembers Zack. “Not unlike Kashif, who also played instruments, Keith was more into directing people on the particular way a song should be done. So, he got great musicians to work with him, and his communication skills got the best out of all of them. He also brought a different set of international musicians to the mix whom we might not have known otherwise.”

Availability: Out of stock SKU: S51076 Categories: ,



Melba Moore – Read My Lips – Expanded

Remastered from the original tapes. Including Bonus Tracks.

01. Love Of A Lifetime
02. I Can’t Believe It’s Over
03. Read My Lips
04. Dreams
05. When You Love Me Like This
06. Winner
07. King Of My Heart
08. To Those Who Wait
09. Mind Over Matter
10. I Can’t Believe It’s Over (extended version)
11. Read My Lips (remix version)
12. When You Love Me Like This (special club remix)
13. Winner (instrumental version)
14. Read My Lips (extended version)
15. When You Love Me Like This (monster groove mix)

Additional information

Weight 0,110 kg