One Way – Love Is (PTG CD)


One Way released in 1981 the grossly overlooked and far underrated album Love Is. The album contains smooth vocal harmonies and sweet soul rhythms. The Detroit group brought the album into the Billboard R&B Top 20 in March 1981, their highest spot. The title track Love is …is a  mid tempo urban soul track. 

Availability: In stock SKU: PTG 34155 Categories: , More of:


But One Way meanders from this sleepy and sweet title track to the more emotive “My Lady,” which captures an easy, breezy style reminiscent of the Chi-Lites. The latter was rewarded with moderate chart success, while the lighthearted dance groove “Push” shot to number 12 R&B. Elsewhere, “I Didn’t Mean to Break Your Heart” finds the band sampling some funk ethics, only to swing ’round a little later on with some classic blues guitar picking and bass thumping on “Wait Until Tomorrow.” It’s an eclectic, if at times somewhat too smooth, brew, but One Way is so obviously enthralled with their sonic journey that it’s hard to criticize.

Oddly, despite such cool grooves and their consistent presence in the R&B chart for over a decade, One Way remained inexplicably on the fringes, a fate that is ultimately to the benefit of the soul aficionado, as the band is transformed into a precious, secret jewel, a nifty little nugget for those in the know.

Tracklist: One Way – Love is . . .

1. Love is 5:36
2. My Lady 4:38
3. All Over Again 4:00
4. Get It Over 4:44
5. Push 5:26
6. I Didn’t Mean To Break Your Heart 3:44
7. Be Serious 5:54
8. Wait Until Tomorrow 4:53

Additional information

Weight 0,110 kg