Earth, Wind & Fire – Gratitude


Earth Wind & Fire were clearly on fire as a live act, as evidenced on ‘Gratitude’. Recorded during the first rush of mega-stardom the live portion of the album catches them playing raw but tight, stretching out the solos and arrangements and adding in several delightful new songs (“Sun Goddess”, “New World Symphony”) of a progressive nature. The genius mind and vision of Maurice White may lead this musical ensemble, but he never acts as if it belongs to him only. The live versions of “Yearnin’ Learnin’”, “Devotion” and “Sun Goddess” (which they wrote and was recorded by jazz legend Ramsey Lewis) are funky and jazzy. The standout live track is “Reasons” where Phillip Bailey treats us to a vocal tour-de-force.

Release: 11 September 2020

Availability: Out of stock SKU: Z44647 Categories: ,




1. Introduction By Mc Perry Jones
2. Africano/Power
3. Yearnin’ Learnin’
4. Devotion
5. Sun Goddess
6. Reasons
7. Song a Message To You
8. Shining Star
9. New World Symphony
10. Interlude #1
11. Sunshine
12. Sing a Song
13. Gratitude
14. Celebrate
15. Interlude #2
16. Can’t Hide Love
17. Live Bonus Medley: Serpentine/Saturday/Can’t Hide/Reasons

Additional information

Weight 0,110 kg