Commodores – Hot on the Tracks Remastered


1976’s Hot on the Tracks was the Commodores’ fourth album, and it was also the last album they recorded before becoming a major crossover act. From 1977 on, the Commodores were as big among pop and adult contemporary audiences as they were with R&B audiences. That isn’t to say that pop fans ignored them before 1977; “Just to Be Close to You,” the single that Hot on the Tracks is best known for, reached number seven on Billboard’s pop singles chart as well as number one on its R&B singles chart.

The album itself made it to number one on Billboard’s R&B albums chart, while climbing to number 12 on its pop albums chart. Nonetheless, this is an R&B record first and foremost, and the Commodores never sound like they’re going out of their way to be pop. R&B purists should have no problem with “Just to Be Close to You,” which is very much a soul ballad and doesn’t have the adult contemporary appeal of subsequent hits like “Three Times a Lady,” “Easy,” and “Still.” Nor should they have any problem with hardcore funk treasures such as “Fancy Dancer” (a number nine R&B hit), “Come Inside,” “Let’s Get Started,” and the quirky “Quick Draw.” For those who prefer the Commodores’ hardcore funk and soul over their crossover material, Hot on the Tracks is recommended without hesitation.

Re-release-date: 22-4-2016

Availability: Out of stock SKU: R70327 Category:


Commodores – Hot on the Tracks Remastered

1. Let’s Get Started (3:55)
2. Girl, I Think The World About You (4:32)
3. High On Sunshine (4:24)
4. Just To Be Close To You (6:21)
5. Fancy Dancer (4:24)
6. Come Inside (3:49)
7. Thumpin’ Music (3:24)
8. Quick Draw (4:18)
9. Can’T Let You Tease Me (3:12)

Additional information

Weight 0,110 kg