Esther Phillips – From A Whisper To A Scream


Handpicking the material herself, Esther included some
R&B hits of the time – The Originals’ ‘Baby I’m For Real,’
Eddie Floyd’s ‘’Til My Back Ain’t Got No Bone’ –
alongside two songs penned by Allen Toussaint, including
the stirring title track. The album’s most notable cut
was her true-to-life version of Gil Scott-Heron’s ‘Home Is
Where The Hatred Is,’.

RELEASE: 9 April 2021

Availability: Out of stock SKU: P36480 Categories: ,


Esther Phillips – From A Whisper To A Scream


  • 1. Home is where the hatred is
  • 2. From a whisper to a scream
  • 3. To lay down beside you
  • 4. That’s alright with me
  • 5. ‘Til my back ain’t got no bone
  • 6. Sweet touch of love
  • 7. Baby, I’m for real
  • 8. Your love is so doggone good
  • 9. Scarred knees
  • 10. How blue can you get?
  • 11. Brother brother
  • 12. Don’t run to him
  • 13. A beautiful friendship

Additional information

Weight 0,110 kg