Chocolate Jam co. – Spread Of The Future (CD)

Original price was: €17,90.Current price is: €14,32.

Artist: Chocolate Jam
Label: PTG Records
Sort: Artist CD
Product #: PTG34199
Barcode: 8717438197999
Rating: Not rated yet

Availability: In stock SKU: PTG34199 Categories: , ,


Tracklist: Chocolate Jam co. – Spread Of The Future

01. The Feeling 3:24
02. Just As You Are 4:28
03. This Time 3:54
04. Don’t Leave Me Now, Stay With Me 5:39
05. Looking Glass 3:35
06. Suite Chocolate
a. Mounds (Instrumental) 2:00
b. Spread Of The Future 4:40
c. The Party 0:29
d. A Chocolate Jam 4:40
e. “C” Of Chocolate 4:29

The debut album of Chocolate Jam Co. titled The Spread of the Future was first released in 1979 on the CBS imprint Epic Records. The list of artists employed for this album of is a long and impressive one. It included George Duke, and Earth Wind and Fire musicians, guitarist Al McKay, saxman Don Myrick and trumpeter Oscar Brashear.

The album was produced, written and co-written by Leon “Ndugu” Chancler. In addition to producing the album Chancler also sung many of the lead vocals (along with Virginia Ayers and Leo Miller). The Spread of the Future is a very enjoyable album and still highly in demand with 80’s soul and funk fans. The music style ranges from gritty, aggressive funk (“Looking Glass” and “A Chocolate Jam”) to romantic, polished soul (“Just as You Are”).

Earth, Wind & Fire is a prominent influence, as are George Duke and Roy Ayers. Unfortunately at the release of the album The Spread of the Future received little attention, which is why it went out of print in the early ’80s. But nowadays record collectors are still looking for this great album and that’s why PTG Records has decided to re-issue this still highly in demand gem.

Additional information

Weight 0,120 kg