V/A – Disco 75 (3CD)


‘Disco 75’ features huge hits along with dancefloor essentials that changed the face of dance music mid-decade; including massive radio-friendly tunes from Shirley (And Company), Jackson Five, KC And The Sunshine Band, Archie Bell And The Drells, The O’Jays, Whispers, The Average White Band, Harold Melvin And The Bluenotes, Disco Tex And The Sexolettes and more.

Availability: Out of stock SKU: 8A6083 Categories: ,


V/A – DISCO 75


Following on from the success of Captain Oi’s previous Toy Dolls box set – ‘THE ALBUMS 1983- 87’ (AHOY BX 350) – a further five CDs make up the extensive second volume, ‘THE ALBUMS 1989-93’. Housed in a sturdy clam shell box, the set features four studio albums and one live set totalling 83 tracks over five discs.

Disc One is ‘Ten Years Of Toys’, a re-recorded “Best Of” the band’s first decade, featuring classics like ‘Deidre’s A Slag’, ‘Tommy Kowey’s Car’ and ‘My Girlfriend’s Dad’s A Vicar’. The second disc is the 1989 studio album ‘Wakey Wakey With The Toy Dolls’ which features the wonderful ‘Cloughy Is A Bootboy’ and ‘Lester Fiddled The Tax Man’.

Disc Three is the band’s first ever live LP, ‘Twenty Tunes Live From Tokyo’ recorded on their 1989 world tour and featuring the UK Top Three hit ‘Nellie The Elephant’. This set now comes with two bonus tracks from that Japanese show. The fourth disc is the ‘Fat Bob’s Feet’ album from 1991 which is now joined by the ‘Turtle Crazy’ single as a bonus. And, the fifth and final disc is ‘Absurd-Ditties’, an album that’s long been rated as the best Toy Dolls album of them all. ‘Ernie Had A Hernia’, ‘My Wife’s A Psychopath’, ‘Dez The Demon Decorator’… all absolute classics! The booklet contains detailed notes plus pictures from all the related sleeves.




  1. Shirley (and Company) Shame, Shame, Shame
  2. Moses Dillard & the Lovejoy Orchestra – Theme From Lovejoy
  3. Herbie Mann – Hi-Jack
  4. Doris Duke – a Little Bit of Lovin’
  5. Black Stash – Mighty Love Man Pt 1
  6. Genya Ravan – Feel the Need In Me
  7. The Kay-Gees – Get Down
  8. Armada Orchestra – Cochise
  9. Average White Band – Pick Up the Pieces
  10. Harold Melvin & Bluenotes – Bad Luck
  11. Gene Page – Satin Soul
  12. Jesus Alvarez – Queen Bee
  13. Seldon Powell and Co – Mor Shame Pt 1
  14. Major Lance – Don’t You Know I Love You
  15. Frankie Valli – Swearin’ To God
  16. Dionne Warwicke – Take It From Me
  17. Rhythm Makers – Zone


  1. Seeds of the Earth – Planting Seeds
  2. De-Lite-Ful – Forget That Girl
  3. Chuck Jackson – Love Lights
  4. Calendar – Hypertension
  5. Retta Young – (Sending Out an) S.O.S.
  6. Bataan – the Bottle (La Botella)
  7. Derek Martin – Beautiful Woman
  8. Sylvia – Pussy Cat
  9. The Jackson Five – Forever Came Today
  10. Crown Heights Affair – Dreaming a Dream
  11. Brother To Brother – Let Your Mind Be Free (Vocal)
  12. Brother To Brother – Let Your Mind Be Free (Inst)
  13. The Reflections – Three Steps From True Love
  14. The Rimshots -7-6-5-4-3-2-1 (Blow Your Whistle)
  15. Moments and Whatnauts – Girls (French Version)
  16. Pat Lundi – Party Music
  17. Mfsb – Sexy
  18. Peoples Choice – Do It Any Way You Wanna
  19. Esther Phillips – What a Difference a Day Makes
  20. Banzai – Chinese Kung Fu
  21. The Glitter Band – Makes You Blind


  1. Al Matthews – Fool
  2. Universal Mind – Reach Out For Me
  3. Ultrafunk – Sting Your Jaws – Part 1
  4. Kc & the Sunshine Band – That’s the Way I Like It
  5. Armada Orchestra – Feel the Need In Me
  6. Johnny Otis – Jaws
  7. Disco Tex & the Sexolettes – Get Dancin’
  8. Oscar Toney Jar – Chicken Heads
  9. The O’Jays – I Love Music
  10. The Soul Train Gang – Soul Train “75”
  11. Jimmy James & the Vagabonds – I Am Somebody
  12. The Whispers – In Love Forever
  13. Benny Troy – I Wanna Give You Tomorrow
  14. The Salsoul Orchestra – Chicago Bus Stop
  15. Juggy Murray Jones – Inside America
  16. Archie Bell & the Drells – Let’s Groove
  17. Dooley Silverspoon – Let Me Be the Number 1(Love of Your Life)

Additional information

Weight 0,195 kg