Blue Magic – Welcome Back (CD)


Blue Magic – Welcome Back (CD)

11.90 8.93


Availability: Out of stock SKU: FTG-226-6 Categories: , ,


CD Description

Blue Magic – Welcome Back

Blue Magic’s 1981 Capitol release, WELCOME BACK, arrived at a time when soul and R&B music had resurfaced as a popular genre yet in a different manner.

While heavy funk grooves & well-crafted ballads driven by rhythm sections/horns/strings were the norm in the 1970s, the rise of synthesizers & drum machines in the 80s resulted in light pop-driven arrangements – evident in hits by Ray Parker Jr. & Raydio (“A Woman Needs Love”) and the Four Tops (“When She Was My Girl”).

Instead of following this trend, Blue Magic (lead singer Ted “Wizard” Mills, Keith Beaton, Vernon Sawyer & Wendell Sawyer) as well as producer Norman Harris & his crew of session musicians (members of MFSB) stuck with the winning formula that made the group successful – and met with resistance from the industry.


01. The Oscar
02. Feeling The Love
03. Who Could Ever Leave You ?
04. Welcome Back
05. Land Of Make Believe
06. Seems I Haven’t Seen Her
07. Standin’ On The Edge Of A Love Affair
08. Let There Be Love
09. All I Really Need Is You
10. Remember November

Additional information

Weight0.110 kg
You've just added this product to the cart: