Boombox: Early Independent Hip-Hop, Electro and Disco Rap 1979-82


Be the first to review this product

Availability: In stock

SKU: R78191

Quick Overview

Soul Jazz Records' new 'Boombox' features some of the many innovative underground first-wave of rap records made in New York in the period 1979-82, all released on small, independent, often family-concern record companies, at a time when hip-hop music still remained under the radar.

This collection celebrates these first old-school rap records, bringing together rare, classic and obscure tracks released in the early days of rap. Deluxe double CD-pack comes with slipcase, 40-page outsize perfect-bound booklet, extensive notes, exclusive photography and original label artwork.


George Duke - Dream On Expanded Edition **

George Duke - Dream On Expanded Edition **

Regular Price: €14.90

Special Price €6.90

Disco Recharge: I Want to Make It on My Own/Have a Little Faith

Disco Recharge: I Want to Make It on My Own/Have a Little Faith

Regular Price: €19.90

Special Price €9.90

V/A - Extends The 80s Electro

V/A - Extends The 80s Electro

Regular Price: €10.90

Special Price €8.90


Disc: 1

1. Mr. Sweety G - At The Place To Be
2. Love Bug Star-Ski and The Harlem World Crew - Positive Life
3. Neil B - Body Rock
4. Super 3 - Philosophy Rappin' Spree
5. Bramsam - Move Your Body
6. Black Bird & Kevski - On The Go
7. Count Coolout - Rhythm Rap Rock
8. Harlem World Crew - Rappers Convention

Disc: 2

1. Willie Wood & The Willie Wood Crew - Willie Rap
2. Bon-Rock & The Rhythm Rebellion - Searching Rap
3. Sugar Daddy - One More Time
4. Spoonie Gee and The Treacherous Three - The New Rap Language
5. T.J. Swan - And You Know That
6. Portable Patrol - Cop Bop
7. Master Jay - We Are People Too
8. Sweet G - Boogie Feelin' Rap
9. Mistafide - Equidity Funk

Additional Information


Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.

Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register